Matthew Sweet

Matthew Sweet

Matthew Sweet Biography

The seasoned singer, songwriter, producer, multi-instrumentalist Matthew Sweet is currently in the midst of a personal musical renaissance that’s seen him produce some of the most compelling and ambitious music of his three-decade career.

That description applies to Tomorrow’s Daughter, on which such instantly memorable new tunes as “Belong,” “Run Away,” “Lady Frankenstein” and also “Out of My Misery”. These demonstrate his uncanny ability to tap into a bottomless well of pop history to craft music that’s effortlessly catchy yet deeply personal.

Tomorrows Daughter

Tomorrow’s Daughter—the follow-up to the artist’s acclaimed 2017 set Tomorrow Forever is a persuasive testament to the enduring qualities of Sweet’s adventurous, emotion-charged songcraft. The new album’s 12 songs abound with the punchy melodic sensibility, playful sonic experimentalism and introspective lyrical insight that have been constants in his expansive catalogue.

The distinctive musical output coupled with lyrical qualities of Tomorrow’s Daughter have been hallmarks of Matthew Sweet’s work. He began making music as a high school student in his native Lincoln, Nebraska. While attending the University of Georgia in Athens, Georgia, he became active in that town’s burgeoning underground music scene. He was also a member of the now-legendary indie combos Oh-OK and Buzz of Delight. There were also collaborations with R.E.M.’s Michael Stipe and Chris Stamey of The dB’s.

The Beginning

A demo recorded with producer Don Dixon led to solo deals with Columbia, A&M and finally Zoo, which issued his commercial and creative breakthrough Girlfriend in 1991. Girlfriend won raves from critics and established him with a wide international fan base that continues to support him today.

Sweet continued to reveal new layers of songwriting depth and sonic creativity on his subsequent efforts. Altered Beast, the spin-off EP Son of Altered Beast, 100% Fun, Blue Sky on Mars and In Reverse. His musical gifts continued to shine into the new century with releases such as Kimi Ga Suki, Living Things, Sunshine Lies, and Modern Art. There was also Under the Covers series, a three volume collaboration with Susanna Hoffs of the Bangles


Matthew Sweet is in the midst of an especially productive period that’s seen him continue to generate new material. He’s already recorded Wicked System of Things, a collection of new original songs to be released as a limited-edition, and is planning his next general-release album.

Now firmly ensconced, along with his wife, cats and vintage recording gear, in Nebraska, Sweet works out of his home studio. This allows him to indulge his bottomless musical imagination, and to engage in long-distance collaborations with musicians in other locations. This is a method that he employed on both Tomorrow Forever and Tomorrow’s Daughter.

Meanwhile, Matthew Sweet’s catalogue continues to be a source of inspiration for longtime fans and new converts. The Intervention label is planning deluxe two-LP vinyl editions of Girlfriend, Altered Beast, and also 100% Fun. These will feature a wealth of rare and unreleased material. But it’s creating new music that remains Matthew Sweet’s main concern, and he indeed continues to do so with renewed intensity.

Hit songs include:

  • Divine Intervention
  • Girlfriend
  • The Ugly Truth
  • We’re the Same
  • Sick of Myself
  • Where You Get Love
  • What Matters
  • I’ve Been Waiting
  • Someone to Pull the Trigger
  • Until You Break

No event is too large or too small and we’re happy to assist first time event coordinators. Browse through our Artist Listings and if you don’t see the artist or band you’re looking for, no problem, we will work with other management teams & booking agents to get the artist you want at no extra cost to you.

Artist photos and graphics are for publicity use only and are the property of the individual artists. TNT Booking does not claim to represent itself as the agent, representative, or management to any artist on this website. To have your biography or other information removed from the site, please contact us.